Good Vibes : Rather Be by Clean Bandit ft. Jess Glynne

Clean Bandit - Rather Be

Music has been all too important in my life.  At this moment I am struggling to find the right words to describe its importance to me but after a couple of rewrites nothing seems to evoke the true emotions of how I feel about certain songs.  There are moments in my life that are attached to certain bands, songs, and genres of music.  Not every song is great to listen to but it is important to me because of the memory attached to it.  I tend to have a “different” taste in music and I feel it is due in part to the emotional importance I place on much of it.  Many songs are important to me because of the events in my life that they are attached to and in an attempt to share similar feelings I wanted to let you in on those ties with a new monthly series called “Good Vibes”.

The purpose of these posts are to share with you a song each month that is meaningful to me at that time.  A song that I will forever tie to a moment of my life.  The thing is, it’s not always going to be a positive song or situation.  Many times a song has been attached to a rough point in my life but it’s important to remember that moment just as much as any of the positives. The good and the bad have shaped me into who I am today. So without further ado I present to you the first song in the “Good Vibes” series.

Rather Be by Clean Bandit ft. Jess Glynne

What better way to start this series than with the tune that is most closely linked with my decision to move to Thailand.  Like so many memories of my life this first song can be tied to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  I was unfulfilled by my current job at the time and came across the following video produced by TEDxUNC that showcased Tar Heels enjoying their summer around the world.  It was at this moment I began to look into opportunities to move abroad.


Do you have a song or genre of music that is tied to a certain point in your life?  Why is it important to you?  Let me know if the comments below.  I’m always looking for new music to add to my library.

Follow all my adventures on the social networks:

Tar Heel Voyager

2 thoughts on “Good Vibes : Rather Be by Clean Bandit ft. Jess Glynne

  1. I liked the read. Awesome that you’re living in Thailand. I was in Bangkok myself for New Years. I also liked the videos you added to the entry. I saw the Rather Be picture on your Instagram account and was reminded of my time in Japan. Keep up the great work.

    Like

    • Glad to hear it brought up some good memories. Japan is really high on my list of places to explore as well but who knows how things will play out from here. Appreciate the kind words and I look forward to reading through your blog as well!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

