Good Vibes : Once a Day by Michael Franti & Spearhead

Once a Day by Michael Franti & Spearhead

After spending two weeks on the islands of Penang, Malaysia and Koh Tao, just off the coast from my new home of Surat Thani, Thailand, it is only appropriate that I feature some reggae sounds in this edition of Good Vibes.  There is something particular about the salty air that puts my mind at ease and allows me to truly reflect on where I am at the moment and where I am going.  “Once a Day” by Michael Franti and Spearhead tackles the concept of making each day important to not only yourself but the ones that surround you as well, a focal point of my travel reflection.

The truth is that we don’t know how much time we have to spread our own positive feelings into the world and we need to do what we can to advance nothing but the best of ourselves.  This task is not an easy one.  Internal emotions and passions can push you in a dissenting way against opposition that we perceive as hostile.  Those who are overwhelmed with negativity may try and let it bleed into your life but you must do all that you can to be the best of yourself so only that part shines through in everything that you touch.

Just hanging with Tiger

This writing is not meant to be a sermon to those who read but rather a permanent reminder to myself to do my best to show off nothing but the constructive version of myself.  As someone who can be argumentative I must open my eyes and see it does nothing to be adversarial.  As the song states, “love somebody every day.”


Do you have a song or genre of music that is tied to a certain point in your life?  Why is it important to you?  Let me know if the comments below.  I’m always looking for new music to add to my library.

Follow all my adventures on the social networks:

Tar Heel Voyager

8 thoughts on “Good Vibes : Once a Day by Michael Franti & Spearhead

Leave a Reply

