Good Vibes : Happiness by NEEDTOBREATHE

Happiness

The wonderful thing about music is that it can speak to each listener in an individual way.  Sure, the artist creates the song with an intent but how it affects the listener cannot be predetermined.  Such is the case with NEEDTOBREATHE’s new song, “Happiness”.  The words expressed speak to me deeply as I sit halfway around the globe.

One action I have taken in the past year is examining where my mental state was when I decided to move to Thailand.  This also allows me to better reflect on where I am in thought now.  I would be dishonest if I did not say the move was not in part due to my urge to pursue “happiness”.  Is it not the reason we make most of our decisions as we move through life?  To do our best to put ourselves near the circumstances that allow for the greatest amount of happiness possible.  If we chose another direction is it not typically in the pursuit of someone else’s happiness?  Someone you care about being happy?  It is a huge part of the reason I am in Thailand.  I want to find my greatest source of happiness.

“Sometimes you leave the ones you love
But if it’s love, they won’t give up”

Each pursuit towards happiness brings about its own, unique struggles as well.  Personally the fact that I am missing important moments with my family and close friends has put the most weight on my mind.  I was not able to be there for my grandmother when my grandfather passed away.  It is looking more and more likely that I will have to miss one of my closest and dearest friend’s wedding.  And this tugs at my heart.  With the stress comes a bit of comfort though.  Just look at the lyrics above from this all too important song.  They all know that I love them deeply and I know that feeling is reciprocated.  Conversations and online interactions are constantly reaffirming.

7648720ED35D57C29F21039A45D94DCC

I find a great deal of happiness here.

As I pursue “happiness” and self-inflict these struggles I am comforted to have the love of my friends and family to keep me moving forward rather than looking back.  Thank you as you push me in a direction that is so beneficial for me.  You will always be a part of my happiness.


Do you have a song or genre of music that is tied to a certain point in your life?  Why is it important to you?  Let me know in the comments below.  I’m always looking for new music to add to my library.

Follow all my adventures on the social networks:

Tar Heel Voyager

Leave a Reply

