Good Vibes : Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) by Darlene Love

various_artists_-_a_christmas_gift_for_you_from_phil_spector

This will be my second year in a row spent far from home for the holidays so I am filling this Good Vibes post with a bit of Christmas nostalgia.  While sitting here in my Thailand home finishing up packing for a Christmas beach trip I noticed an email sent from my dad.  Inside I find a link to the very last performance of Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) sung by Darlene Love on The Late Show with David Letterman.  For years on end my dad would have the entire family gather to watch this annual performance on the last show before Christmas.  It goes without saying that this video brought a tear to my eye.

Christmas is a time to surround yourself with those that matter the most to you.  For expats or travelers this can seem difficult but I have found that travelling offers a tremendous opportunity to connect with others in unique ways, especially over the holidays.  You have to understand that you are not the only one going through the minor bout of homesickness.  Everyone else around you, whether they are your fellow teachers or simply the strangers who are staying at the same hostel, are seeking companionship and Christmas only amplifies this need.  Embrace this emotion and use it to experience new people.  Exchange Christmas stories and traditions with each other and you will be surprised at how much more like home you can make your holiday experience while abroad.

1482548084266

Whether you are comfortably snug at home or experiencing your first set of holidays abroad, my students and I would like to wish you a wonderful Christmas and happy New Year!


Do you have a song or genre of music that is tied to a certain point in your life?  Why is it important to you?  Let me know in the comments below.  I’m always looking for new music to add to my library.

Follow all my adventures on the social networks:

Tar Heel Voyager

Leave a Reply

